It’s been a while since my last contribution to the site which seems to be going from strength to strength lately, Tnooz. Today I’ve rectified the situation with a piece exploring a topic I’ve mentioned before on this blog, at my recent Eye for Travel conference presentation, and in countless meetings with airline executives. Click here to read the article in full. The question I’m asking in that piece is how should airlines assess the relative importance of investment in mobile apps versus the browser based mobile web?

In the Tnooz article I’ve relied heavily on a recent comScore report on mobile, but there were two things in that report that I found interesting and which didn’t really fit the theme of apps vs mobile web.

The first was this sentence from the report: In December 2010, 9.8 million mobile phone users in Japan made a purchase using their mobile wallet, accounting for nearly 10 percent of mobile subscribers. That number is impressive – mobile payments certainly look like an interesting area going forward if other markets follow the lead of Japan, as I expect they will.

The second interesting thing I saw was the chart below. Did I hear someone use the term f-commerce?

