I still think I’m correct that Twitter is more of a marketing tool for airlines, and a great passenger to passenger tool at times of mass confusion, but it is not the future of airline customer service. But to keep it balanced, the article below (and its accompanying video) are worth looking at for a different viewpoint.

So, for some airlines, Twitter is taking off as a customer service tool, just like phone calls or airport agents, helping get a handle on personal interactions in a very public forum.

Time will tell who is correct, and it wouldn’t be the first time one of my predictions missed the mark, but I have to ask the following question.

If Twitter is the future of airline customer service, then why wouldn’t airlines also be making their email address easily visible for similar types of service queries? Some airlines are, but this is the exception rather than the rule, and I think the reason is that they know servicing by email is very difficult to scale. A call center is usually more cost effective (and pushing enquiries to a FAQ or similar on the website is a hundred times even more cost efficient). Twitter or email is great for servicing those high value frequent fliers who may have this as their preference , but what happens when Twitter adoption is as widespread as email (now looking less likely) and you open the doors to the masses of traveling public?

In my next post, I plan to take a slightly different tack on Twitter and email, and relate is to some interesting observations I have seen on this blog in the past few days.

