Sometimes people are surprised that I have only cautiously advocated the use and usefulness of Twitter in an airline environment, but my failure to unequivocally embrace all the new technology without question doesn’t even come close to the quote below.

The internet’s completely over… The internet’s like MTV. At one time MTV was hip and suddenly it became outdated. Anyway, all these computers and digital gadgets are no good. They just fill your head with numbers and that can’t be good for you.

Who said it – luckily not anyone working in the airline industry, but it was someone you will all know of. It was Prince; yes, he of Purple Rain fame.

The reason I lead in with this quote is because I left a reply comment here yesterday that I later decided warranted being put in a post, and the quote from Prince seemed to fit in nicely with the same theme. The story was along the lines of a senior airline executive making the comment that he didn’t “believe in social media.” My response (not to him, as I only heard the comment second hand) was “Yes, I don’t believe in word of mouth either.”

Sometimes the only way to highlight the ludicrous nature of something is to confront it with something equally ludicrous. Would it be fair to say that if you strip away all the hype, social media at it’s core is really just word of mouth amplified using technology? If so, how can you not believe in it?

I think what the executive meant to say was “I don’t buy into all the hype around social media” but this is a very different sentiment to what was communicated to me.

