Tnooz have published the final instalment in my lengthy essay on supplier direct websites moving into the travel inspiration space.

Part 5 of 5 also has links to the first 4 parts of this series.

Otherwise, click on my profile to see links to everything I have written for Tnooz,including this most recent five part series.

http://www.tnooz.com/author/mcollings/

The article included a diagram containing a new concept I developed in order to better understand the inspiration landscape. You’ll need to go to Tnooz to read the actual article, but here is the diagram.

I also updated the Bow Tie Diagram to cover inspiration. The point of this illustration is to show that some sites further to the left of the knot are better at inspiration (or lead to inspiration sites) as they attract more uncommitted visitors, whereas the sites closer to the centre of the Bow Tie are more transactional as they attract people who know what they want, when they want it, and are ready to buy:

And I also included a very slightly modified version of the May 2009 model that appeared originally on this site:

I’ve included the diagrams here just to let people know that I am happy with anyone using them if you think they can help you make better sense of the changes happening in travel search.

I previously mentioned the decision to break this series up into five posts over consecutive days, and in hindsight it was the right thing to do given its length. But there was one drawback I didn’t realize at the time. Having a post on multiple pages means you lose the conversation with your readers, as most don’t know where is the best place to leave a comment, and those that do leave a comment, do so on different pages. So there are fewer comments than I would typically get on that site, and spread over mulitple pages so there is no real potential to build further engagement with the audience. This last point is one of the real strangths of social media – sometimes reading the comments is more insightful and more interesting that the actual post itself.  

One last point to reiterate from before, if you like any of these diagrams or any of the concepts I discussed in the inspiraton essay on Tnooz, then feel free to use it as a basis for commissioning your own whitepaper or your own customer study. There is a real need in this industry to understand travel inspiration better. Remember that this blog and anything else I write is just a small sideline to my main job, so hopefully I am just giving the process a gentle kick-along. I would love to see someone with the right resources write the definitive report, as I’m sure there would be a ready market for it.

