Short post today, but just one highlighting what can happen if you are not careful.

United Airlines is being fined $30,000 for failing to include a federal tax when it quoted some airfares on its Web site. The government says the airline omitted a 7.5 percent federal excise tax from some search results online.

Seems a bit harsh, but then again I don’t know the full facts and besides, $30,000 is a drop in the ocean for United, who by the way have recently hired Tom O’Toole from Hyatt as their new Chief Marketing Officer. Despite the relatively small fine, I still wouldn’t want to be the person responsible for the error.

In a strange co-incidence I leant a new word today, or at least a new definition for the word cougar; from two different sources, and both in a tourism context. Carnival cruises are saying no more cougar cruises, and Air New Zealand have a viral video on the topic. Very strange co-incidence. 

Finally, I made a small tweak to the website over the weekend to make comments more prominent on the homepage of this blog. I was getting some really good comments recently from people in the industry, and in the past you had to click on each old post to read what had been written by others. I still can’t work out how to set up a Feedburner or WordPress RSS feed that only contains comments from others and not my replies to their comments, but I hope you find this small change a good addition to the site.

