Yesterday I mentioned the book I am reading on blogging, and mentioned that today I would follow up on an earlier post in which I started talking about blogs maintained by various airlines.

Prior to writing this post, I was monitoring just under 70 RSS feeds, and around 50 of these would have been travel industry news related. The remainder are mainly IT or social media related. As a result of writing this, apart from the feeds I already had from Delta, Qantas and Iberia, I have subscribed to all of the following:

AirAsia (I like the way they are asking for passengers to write guest posts, but I might find the occasional Chinese language posts a bit hard to review)

CathayPacific

Finnair (why only email subscriptions? They are using Feedburner, so they must have made a deliberate decision to exclude RSS)

JetBlue (I think this is the official blog, despite the URL)

KLM (Where is the subscribe option? Is there an RSS feed available? Did I miss something obvious, or are there only sharing options? In the end I managed to get a subscription by guessing the feed URL, but please tell me this is not the only way)

Southwest (an old review here)

It looks like AA used to have a blog (here and here) although I can’t find a current one. In fact for every five airlines I went searching for to add to my RSS reader, only one in five seemed to have an official blog. I couldn’t even find current airline employees blogging in a semi official capacity when looking through the first 30 search results per airline. Maybe when it comes to semi official blogs by employees most airlines subscribe to the Mark Cuban school of blogging, taken from this quote in Naked Conversations.

Question: What advice do you have for other executives who are considering a blog?

Make sure you are the boss. I don’t think I would encourage executives that work for me to blog. There can be only 1 public vision for an organization. There can be multiple presentations of technology. In-depth technical information can be the most valuable use of a blog, but the boss and subordinates don’t always see eye-to-eye, and having more than one message going out via a blog, can be very counterproductive.

Personally my views on blogging are closer to that of McConnell and Huba from Church Of The Consumer and quoted in the same book:

I see no reason for any company not to blog—unless you’re sleazy. Every company needs a feedback system and the easiest way to do that is through a blog. It’s almost like a truth serum. It’s two-way marketing.

I have written the title of this post as part 2 of 3, as I intend to follow all of the above blogs over the next month or so – by then I should have a good feel for how the airlines are using the medium and be able to make some assessment of each. If you know of any good blogs that carry an official or semi official stamp from an airline and which I have missed, please let me know. I find it very hard to believe that my list above could be considered exhaustive.

