I saw a very impressive effect fom Twitter a couple of days ago. A few people tweeted and retweeted my post on Icelandair, and traffic to this site quadrupled in a day. Gives me much more respect than I shown previously, but does the medium have legs, or will the tweeters get burnt out? Or is monetisation the shark to be jumped? I actually wrote the title for this post plus half the text, and then did a Google search only to found another site called Threeminds had recently used a very similar title, and had written a much funnier article than I ever could! But I stuck with it anyway.

Probably the slide in a presentation I have seen most often that irks me (and I’ve seen it in a similar from from 4 or 5 different presenters over the past year) is where in order to sounds like a guru on social media, the presenter pulls out a chart passing judgement on the social savvy of an airline by drawing a direct correlation between social savvy and twitter followers. As most airlines experimenting with Twitter are using it as a one way communication tool for sending special offer notifications,  the number I really want to see is Twitter followers next to opt in email subscribers for that airline, and then add the two together to give me some basis for comparison. It is not a “social media” measurement, but then again, solely sending offers via Twitter is hardly displaying social savvy. Take a look at this post from Dennis Schaal, where he demonstrates how this can be a double edged sword. Surprise, surprise – the danger of setting high expectations is that some people might actually hold you reaching them, and then criticize when you don’t.

On a totally different topic, I’ll close with this quote, taken from a good LCC summary written by The Centre for Asia Pacific Aviation:

Ryanair is less sanguine about the future of ancillary revenues. “Ancillaries are maxing out,” says Cawley. “We are already deriving up to about 22% of revenue and this is getting close to the natural limit. From here on, ancillary revenue will only grow in line with traffic.” Anyway, other opportunities for sales are not core: “We’re not retailers. We’re not into selling life assurance.”

