The more I think about it, maybe wireless internet in aeroplanes could be a reasonable money spinner. In the past I was a little skeptical, but now I’m hovering somewhere in the middle between advocacy and denial. Even when sitting in business class, I really don’t see that many people on the plane opening a laptop computer, but now with phones having wifi and many people downloading email that way, it could well be something people will pay for. I was reading this article from Flight Global about SouthWest that got me thinking about it again. Here are a couple of quotes:

“email blows everything out of the water” and “Uptake rates have been between 5% and 20% depending on flight length.”

On a different topic, you may remember me treading cautiously when discussing American’s latest social media venture the other day. Following on from that story I got a smile this morning reading this line from travel blogger Jared Blank on the same topic.

I’m not Black, so it’s entirely possible I’m missing the point. But when AA launches JewishAtlas.com and offers sections on bagels & lox, how to save money, and where to find an Accountant in Rome, something will seem a bit off to me.

So much easier to get away with jokes when you are a member of the same group the joke is directed at.

