What is the world coming to? Travel industry PR passing themselves off as genuine opinion, journalists regurgitating press releases and passing them off as news. But with the increased pressure for rapid filing of shorter stories, I understand why the latter is happening more often. So in that fine tradition, here is a quote lifted directly from a recent press release from a company called Jetera:

JETERA is proud to announce the effective completion of the production software for its industry-leading targeted advertising engine. This engine performs the core functionality for the in-flight entertainment (IFE) targeted advertising solution. It provides digital, multimedia ads personalized to each individual passenger at their interactive seatback screen. In particular, the core engine includes an ad delivery system, an ad targeting system, associated logic with a software configurable, business rules system and robust logging routines for metrics and analysis. As a result, JETERA will deliver ads that are timely, relevant and actionable to each passenger, based on when, where and how they are traveling.

It got me thinking of  a question I was asked on the weekend, and then again yesterday; and that was, given my interest in new technology did that mean I was using Twitter. I’m not using Twitter, and for a totally different reason I also question whether it is a great idea to serve up individual advertisements on screens in a plane. Sophisticated ad serving on the internet is great as you are generally surfing the web in private, but do I really want the person sitting next to me on the plane trying to infer as much personal information about me as possible by the types of ads I am served versus what they are seeing on their screen. Readers of this blog will know that I am a privacy pragmatist, so revealing personal data is not such a concern, but what is a concern is when other people can see this, or at least infer this. I don’t see a great future for using the seat-back screen as a source of targetted one-to-one advertising.    

On a lighter note, and only remotely related to the theme of this blog (it does mention airline technology), take a look at this TV ad for Alaska Airlines. The amount of times I have had exactly the same experience as the poor man in this video whilst I’ve been waiting at the high-tech Terminal 4 in Madrid meant this advertisement really hit the mark.

